The Academy accepts abstract submissions from Neurosurgical and Orthopaedic Residents and Fellows for presentation at the Annual Scientific Meeting. The submission(s) from those that specifically request consideration by the Scholarship Committee will be considered for cash award(s) and /or other recognition presented during the meeting. The winner(s) must present during the meeting in order to receive an award. Submissions should be made by no later than December 31, 2019 for the meeting in May of 2020 at the Renaissance Downtown Hotel in Providence, Rhode Island.

Contact the AANOS office to confirm your eligibility.

Go to the ICS website to submit your abstract through the general presentation proposal portal. Note that the ICSUS Scholarship competition is independent of the AANOS award. It requires submission of a full manuscript. Visit FICS Online to learn more or to submit an abstract.

Past Recipients

2016 Recipients


Ahmed J. Awad, MD  (Grand Prize Winner)
Post-Doctoral Research Associate, Icahn School of Medicine, Mount Sinai Health System, New York, NY

Morbidity and Mortality in Adults Undergoing Resection of Supratentorial Meningioma


Andres M. Alvarez-Pinzon, MD, MSc (Honorable Mention)
Clinical Research Fellow, Neurological Surgery Department, Miami Neuroscience Center, Larkin Community Hospital, Plantation, FL

Primary CNS Lymphoma: Analysis of Treatment by Gamma- Knife Radiosurgery and Chemotherapy in a Prospective, Observational Study 

2015 Scholarship Recipient


Debraj Mukherjee, MD
Neurosurgery Resident, Los Angeles, CA

Submission Title: Dynamic Cervicomedullary Cord Compression and Alterations in Cerebrospinal Fluid Dynamics in Children with Achondroplasia

2014 Scholarship Recipients

cropped boctor

Daniel S.Z.M. Boctor, MA, MBBChir, MRCS, MRCP

Orthopedic Resident
Lister Hospital, Ilford, Essex, UK

Submission Title: The First Reported Case of Spontaneous Upper Arm Compartment Syndrome in a Patient on Clopidogrel


caitlin clark approved

Caitlin Clark
Third Year Medical Student
University of Texas – Houston

Submission Title: Spinal Epidural Arteriovenous Malformations: Report of a Case with discussion of Classification and Treatment


2013 Scholarship Recipient


Doniel Drazin, MD, MA
Senior Neurosurgery Resident
Department of Neurosurgery, The Spine Center, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

Submission Title: Safe and Effective Atlanto-axial Stabilization with Long Term Intra-Articular Arthrodesis


2011 Scholarship Recipient


Amr Morsi, MD
Post-Doctoral Research Fellow
Interdisciplinary Melanoma Program, New York University Langone Medical Center, Departments of Neurosurgery and Radiology

Submission Title: Three Dimensional Volumetric MRI Studies in the Preclinical Mouse Model of Melanoma Brain Metastases


2009 Scholarship Recipient


Isaac Yang, MD
Senior Neurosurgical Resident
University of California, Department of Neurosurgery, San Francisco, CA

Submission Title: Prolific CD8+ T Cell Infiltrate in Newly Diagnosed Glioblastoma Patients Correlates with Long Term Survival


2008 Scholarship Recipient


Alexandra Beier, DO
Osteopathic Neurosurgical Resident
St. John Health System, Detroit, MI

Submission Title: Subdural Hematoma after Microdiscectomy
A Case Report and Review of the Literature